I have travelled through a “red list” country in the past 10 days. What do I need to do?

If you are arriving to England from a red list country, you must do the following before arrival:

  1. Take a COVID-19 test – children aged 10 and under do not need to take this test.
  2. Book a quarantine hotel package, including 2 COVID-19 tests.
  3. Complete a passenger locator form.
  4. On arrival to England, you must quarantine in a managed hotel, including 2 COVID-19 tests.

The rate for 1 adult in 1 room for 10 days (11 nights) is currently £1,750. The additional rate for another adult (or child over 12) is £650, whilst for children aged 5-12 it is £325. There is also an additional day rate for those who test positive and need to continue isolating. The day rate for the first adult is £152, for an additional adult (or child over 12) it is £41, and for children aged 5-12 it is £12.

If you are required to quarantine in a quarantine hotel you can only arrive in England at certain ports of entry. Currently these are:

  • Heathrow Airport
  • Gatwick Airport
  • London City Airport
  • London Biggin Hill Airport
  • Birmingham Airport
  • Bristol Airport
  • Farnborough Airport

If you are a child studying at boarding school and have arrived from a red list country, you can isolate at accommodation provided by your school. If you are not able to isolate at school provided accommodation or you are a day pupil and usually stay with a family, your parent or guardian may exceptionally be issued with a visit visa to accompany you during your quarantine.